## CALVARY BAPTIST CHURCH

Calvary Baptist Church was a dream come true for generations of early settlers of Lost Branch Community who had been forced to leave homes and church when the Great Smoky Mountain National Park was established. Times were hard when they left the Sugarlands and their dream of a church at Lost Branch was temporarily put aside, but as the children grew and traveled to other communities to church, the desire for a church was handed down from one generation to another.

On the first Sunday in April 1958, the nucleus of a church began with preaching and Sunday School held afternoons in Austin Ogle's old house on Lost Branch Road. Before long the house was overflowing and meetings were moved to Loy Ogle's larger house. These meetings led to the organization of Calvary Baptist Church.

Sunday, October 5, 1958, at 2 p.m., a meeting was called for the purpose of organizating a church on Lost Branch. Neighboring church ministers and deacons came to help. The Presbytery was made up of the Reverends Jack Bailey, Joel Carr, Walter Ownby, Loren Whaley, Otha Ownby, M. L. Plemons, and Henry Morton. Deacons present were Bruce King, Richard Ogle, Bernard Whaley, Knaffel Whaley, Bill Atchley (Sevier County Baptist Association Missionary), and Ennis E. Price.

The Reverend M. L. Plemons acted as moderator and Ennis Price as clerk. Reverend Jack Bailey brought the message and Reverend Joel Carr conducted the church examination. Charter members were Freeman Ogle, Clearcy Ogle, Parton Ogle, Christine Ogle, Lillie Ogle, Loy Ogle, Velma Ogle, Louvita Gibson, Agnes Ogle, Ted Ogle, ma Ogle, Vita Ogle, Dee King, Bessie King, and Ruby Reagan.

After the church was accepted as duly constituted, the doors of church membership were opened and Ruth Thompson, Linda Ogle, and Joann Whaley joined the church. Reverend Henry Maples prayed the ordination prayer and Reverend Walter Ownby brought the charge of the church. An offering, \$16.35, was taken for the Cooperative Program, Reverend Plemons, Moderator and Ennis Price, Clerk.

February 1, 1959, the church voted for 10 percent of the Sunday School offerings to go to the Cooperative Program. Property belonging to Freeman Ogle was chosen for a building site for a new church.

August 2, 1959 the first messengers to the Association were chosen: Freeman Ogle, Parton Ogle, Luther Ownby. Dee King was the first Executive Board member, elected August 16, 1959.

The church site was surveyed August 22, 1959, and the deed prepared. A block building was constructed and on July 9, 1960, the first service was held in the new church. On November 1, 1959, the church voted to send messengers to the Tennessee Baptist

Convention in Nashville. The Reverend and Mrs. Adams and Mr. and Mrs. Dee King attended.

By October 8, 1961, the church building was dedicated, debt-free.

Pastors serving from 1958 through 1988: M. L. Plemons, Leonard Adams, Bethel Crisp, Clyde Breeden, Willie Ownby, Henry Morton, Odis Parrott, Jack Mason, Holbert Whaley, Harold Spicer, Ken Williams, Dewey Loveday, Larry Teaster, and Clay Sutton. The pastor is Reverend Clay Sutton, 1989.

Information was supplied by Mrs. Ralph Ogle.